Skip to content

Tomorrows reading from the Book of Romans…

June 2, 2012

Tomorrow is Trinity Sunday and the lectionaries reading that seems to be most timely from us that are trying to do the right thing with our sisters and brothers that are on the fringes of society is the Romans passage (8:12-17). The key here for me is that we are called to be more than we are thought we could be… To not live according to the flesh is a very hard and daunting task. We have our cable/ satellite tv, our electronic devises, our busy schedules. We have our social media, games and so much more. With all these things in our lives do we spend time learning to seclude ourselves or do we use them to enhance our relationships with one another.
Yes I’ll admit I am addicted to my electronics, but I try to use them to foster relationships with others. Sometimes more than my lovely wife would like, but… God knows my intent.
“Deeds of the body.” What is the author of our lesson trying to say here? Deeds of the body in this context probably refers to he things that separate us from one another. The words of the James Taylor song “You’ve got a friend” comes to mind.
“When you’re down and troubled and you need a helping hand and nothing, whoa, nothing is going right. Close your eyes and think of me and I will soon be there to brighten up even your darkest nights. Just call out my name, and you know where ever I am I’ll come running to see you again.”
” When we cry, Abba! Father!” God comes to our aid. If a person calls on you or me will we be there for them? Even if they are not members of our immediate family? Than for me is the heart of the Christian message. We are all family because we ALL have the same heavenly parent. We are adopted by the fact that Christ Jesus came into this broken world that seems to give in to the power struggles of this world and ignore the call of God on and say…Lord, I’ll be there… We are so much more than friends in this place we are family. How are we going to bring more people into the family? First and foremost we have to be friends to and for them.as time goes on we become family.

From → jimmyahornjr

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

