Skip to content

The Weight of the World…

July 10, 2014

How often do we feel the weight of the world is on our shoulders? The Joe Cocker song comes to mind:
What would you think if sang out of tune,
Would you stand up and walk out on me ?
Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song
And I’ll try not to sing out of key.

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

What do I do when my love is away
(Does it worry you to be alone ?)
How do I feel by the end of the day,
(Are you sad because you’re on your own ?)

No, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody
I need somebody to love
Could it be anybody
I want somebody to love.

Would you believe in a love at first sight
Yes I’m certain that it happen all the time
What do you see when you turn out the light
I can’t tell you but I know it’s mine,

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody, I just need someone to love
Could it be anybody, I want somebody to love.

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
with a little help from my friends.
From family issues to discord in our community… we all can and do experience this tension from time to time.
Don’t we?
Sometimes the stress and complications of life are too much for one person to handle alone. And we can forget that God is right in the middle of the mess with us and gives us the strength to continue. If we do not allow our egos get in the way, those we are in community with here will lend an ear in our struggles and hold us up in their prayers and maybe even provide some sage advice.
However, we forget or neglect to ask for help. Even though we may not say it out loud… and we may not think that others will understand… or they that will judge without knowing the whole story. We have a hard time asking for help. What other excuses can we come up with? If we ask for help, we are “weak,” …or at least in our society we have been taught to think that way. If we have lived long enough, we can relate to this. However, if we look to this passage we have today, Jesus says that his path, his yoke, is light. We have been called into community with one another and with the Trinity.
How can Jesus’ yoke be light? Jesus was beaten. He was crucified. Yet Jesus calls that yoke light. Jesus is yoked with the other parts of the Trinity, so that the burden is easier to bear. It is easier when the burden is shared. We have a community here that says that we are here for one another and in the short amount of time I think that statement is very true. If you look at the full baptism service there is a part for the parents and God-parents, there is a part for the congregation, a part for the clergy and the baptized. Each part is very important, because each is a part draws us to the sanctification of the body of Christ, which we are all a part. This includes those that cannot be in attendance for the worship service. The people that can no longer attend can feel left out of the body. Wednesday of last week I was able to visit some folks. I think that the visits went well and I plan on doing more in the days to come, but that is where the rest of the congregation comes in to action. I am new in the community and you have known those that need to be visited. I am asking for volunteers to visit with me. This way I could be introduced and make sure I find my way around. We are yoked with one another to make the burdens of this life less stressful. Carrying the burdens of failing heath or whatever the case may be, can separate us from one another but I do not think that is what God would want us to allow.
Some of you may be wondering why I wear a collar instead of a necktie like the majority of the UMC clergy. Well…I think locating a clergy person in a crowd where people are only wearing neckties can be hard for someone looking or seeking someone to find comfort. This is very important as my role as a clergy person. The collar is also a reminder that I may be the one that leads worship but we are on the same plane. The collar is to remind me to remain humble in all things. The collar yokes me to Jesus and to each of you.
We are in this mission together. The mission of this congregation to be in mission in the world around us. In the days to come let us begin thinking about where we need to place our energies. So we can have direction in the actions of the church.
In the words I started today’s sermon: I get by with a little help from my friends
gonna try with a little help from my friends

But we really are going to do much more than just getting by… We are going to do more than try, we are going to be doers and with help from one another, and our Triune God. God has given us a mission, Jesus is yoked with us so that when we think the burden is too much, and the Holy Spirit will guide us as we go forth.
Let us pray.
Almighty and most merciful God, grant that by the indwelling of your Holy Spirit we may be enlightened and strengthened for your service; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now
and for ever. Amen.

From → jimmyahornjr

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

